6 Things I will miss about Uganda

The Pearl of Africa will always have a place in my heart

j taliaferro
3 min readJan 8, 2022

--

We have had the privilege to live in the pearl of Africa for ten years now. Sadly, that time is coming to a close. There are certain things that I will not miss (Bodas, politics, matooke), but there are things about Uganda that will be etched in my memory forever, and I will cherish them till the day I die. Here is a list of things I will miss about Uganda.

The People: Uganda is the home to the most friendly people on the planet. Even the most introverted and shy visitor would find it near impossible to avoid new friendships in Uganda. They are inviting and quick to strike up a pleasant conversation. I have lived in countries around the world, but Uganda is the most friendly and welcoming of them all.

The beauty: From the highest mountain to the lowest valley, Uganda is beautiful. Whether it be the rugged Kidepo Valley in the northernmost part of Uganda or the snow-capped Rwenzori Mountains in the far west to the vast savannahs in Murchison Falls National Park in the north, Uganda has an abundance of natural beauty. The scenery alone is enough to leave a lasting impression, but when the exotic wildlife is added to the mix, every day seems like a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

--

--

j taliaferro

Storyteller, Author & Disciple of Jesus Christ. Lover of family, sushi & world travel. I hate cotton candy, bats and the Kansas City Chiefs.